The Thomas Merton Center at Bellarmine University

Thomas Merton

Thomas Merton (1915-1968) was a writer and Trappist monk at Our Lady of Gethsemani Abbey in Kentucky. His writings include such classics as The Seven Storey Mountain, New Seeds of Contemplation, and Zen and the Birds of Appetite. Merton is the author of more than seventy books that include poetry, personal journals, collections of letters, social criticism, and writings on peace, justice, and ecumenism.

Learn more about THOMAS MERTON

The Thomas Merton Center

The Thomas Merton Center is the official repository of Merton's artistic estate, which includes over thirteen hundred photographs and nine hundred drawings in addition to his writing. The Center archives more than fifty thousand Merton-related materials.



International Thomas Merton Society

The International Thomas Merton Society, formed in 1987, includes chapters throughout the world. The ITMS promotes the study of Thomas Merton and, with the Merton Center, co-publishes The Merton Seasonal. The next ITMS Conference will be held in Fairfield, Connecticut from June 13 - 16, 2013.

Learn more about the ITMS

News & Events


Centenary Web Site

14th General Meeting

Merton 100: Living the Legacy

The fourteenth general meeting of the International Thomas Merton Society took place from June 4-7, 2015 at Bellarmine University in Louisville, Kentucky.